The Board

Chair – Maureen Kidd

Maureen Kidd has both a personal and professional interest in promoting cycling. She was previously the strategic lead for physical activity in NHS Health Scotland but is now building on her research interests by doing a PhD at the University of Glasgow, investigating the impact of the 2014 Commonwealth Games on young people living in the East End of Glasgow. She is a member of the World Health Organisation expert group on promoting physical activity in disadvantaged groups and a regular cyclist for active travel and recreation.

Director – Rona Gibb

Rona Gibb is the development manager at Paths For All, a partnership of more than twenty national organisations committed to promoting walking for health and the development of multi-use path networks in Scotland.

Director – Bill Wright

Bill Wright was the chair of Cycling Scotland from 2007 to 2016. Bill is a financial planner and was a board member of Sustrans before joining the board of Cycling Scotland.

Director- Stuart Knowles

Stuart Knowles was Senior Manager for Traffic and Transportation Services at Fife Council until his retirement. He is now pursuing his professional interests in sustainable transport including cycling development.

Director – John Lauder

John Lauder is the Director of Sustrans Scotland, the charity that’s enabling people to travel by foot, bike or public transport for more of the journeys we make every day.

Director – Alan Malcolm

Alan Malcolm was Senior Depute Director of Land Services for Glasgow City Council until retirement and is an appointed member of SPT.

Director – Sandy Scotland

Sandy Scotland has been involved in cycling promotion for many years as a member of Spokes and an appointed member of the SEStran board.

Director- Ian Aitken

Ian worked at Cycling Scotland for 10 years, as Marketing Manager and from 2009-2014 as Chief Executive. He chaired the Cycling Action Plan for Scotland Delivery Forum, producing the 2012 Cycling Action Plan Progress Report and oversaw Bikeability Scotland, the Give Me Cycle Space campaign and Pedal for Scotland. Ian runs Machrihanish Holiday Park and sits on Sustrans Scotland Advisory Board.

Director- Eric Guthrie

Eric Guthrie has 29 years experience in transport. He has worked as Head of Transportation with Aberdeenshire Council, from 2000 until 2006. He was then appointed  Partnership Director of Tactran in 2006. Eric joined the Cycling Scotland board of directors in 2014.

Observer- Karen Furey

Karen is Cycling Policy Manager with the Sustainable & Active Transport Team at Transport Scotland.

The board is appointed by our member organisations.