The Staff Team

Keith Irving – Chief Executive

Keith Irving became Cycling Scotland Chief Executive in July 2014. He is responsible for leading Cycling Scotland, raising the profile of the organisation and delivering the Cycling Scotland vision to establish cycling as a mainstream, attractive and practical lifestyle option. Previously he led Living Streets Scotland for 6 years and has worked in transport planning and policy. He chairs the Cycling Action Plan Delivery Forum and serves on the Road Safety Operational Partnership Group.

Christopher Johnson – Head of Education & Training

Christopher Johnson manages all Development projects including Bikeability Scotland, Cycle Friendly Awards and Making Cycling Mainstream.

Nathan Kaczmarski – Head of Communications & Events

Nathan manages all of the Policy, Monitoring, PR, Events and Communications projects for Cycling Scotland, including the Give Everyone Cycle Space Campaign, Pedal for Scotland, Bike Week and the National Assessment.

Linda Peters – Head of Finance

Linda is responsible for managing the organisation’s finances and is also Cycling Scotland’s company secretary.

Vacant – Behaviour Change Manager

Paul manages the Education and Behaviour Change programmes, which include Bikeability Scotland, Cycle Friendly Awards, Making Cycling Mainstream and Early Years Cycle Training projects.

Kieran Daly – Monitoring & Strategy Manager

Kieran manages our monitoring and policy team in Cycling Scotland and manages the business and partnership development the Cycling Potential Tool and National Monitoring Framework. Kieran is responsible for key monitoring and policy publications, such as the National Assessment.

Vicky Tibbitt – Communications Officer

Vicky works on for PR and Communications for Cycling Scotland, and is responsible for the delivery of the Give Everyone Cycle Space Campaign.

William Wright – Marketing & Development Officer

William is responsible for the marketing, promotion and sponsorship of Cycling Scotland’s projects, services and events, specifically Pedal for Scotland.

Luke Phillips – Monitoring & Development Officer

Luke is responsible for the management, maintenance, analysis and development of data relating to cycling in Scotland.

Jennifer Fingland – Policy Officer

Jennifer is responsible for  the National Assessment of Local Authority Cycling Policy,  the Cycling Scotland Conference, and the Making Cycling Mainstream programme. Jennifer is the key contact regarding the Cycling Action Plan for Scotland (CAPS).

 Eryk Kabaj – Digital Marketing Apprentice

Eryk is working on Cycling Scotland’s digital marketing tools, including social media, website and analytics.

 David Collins – Bikeability Officer

David supports the coordination of Bikeability Scotland training nationwide, by working with key networks and delivery partners to ensure as many Scottish school children as possible receive multi-stage on-road cycle training in line with the national standard.

 Caroline Hammond – Development Officer

Caroline is responsible for the development and delivery of the Cycle Friendly Employer Award, Adult Cycle Training and and the Workplace Cycle Challenge project.

Matt Wilberton – Development Officer

Matt manages the Cycle Friendly Primary and Secondary School awards and development fund in addition to Cycling Scotland school camps.

Pete Mills – Development Officer

Pete is responsible for supporting community groups, and the development and delivery of the Cycle Friendly Community Award and the Cycle Friendly & Sustainable Community Fund.

Marianne Scott – Regional Development Officer (Tactran)

Based within partner organisation, Tactran, Marianne is responsible for supporting and developing cycle training opportunities across Angus, Dundee, Stirling and Perth & Kinross.

Peter Jackson – Regional Cycle Training & Development Officer (SEStran)

Based in SEStran, Peter supports the regional coordinators and develops cycle training opportunities across Clackmannanshire, Edinburgh, East, West and Mid Lothian, Falkirk, Fife, and the Scottish Borders.

Nina Saunders –  Quality Assurance Officer

Nina manages the quality assurance programme for Cycling Scotland’s training courses and  provides support and training to Cycling Scotland’s tutor network.

Valentin JeanJean – Cycling Training Project Officer

Valentin co-ordinates and promotes Cycling Scotland’s Cycle Aware Training for Learner Drivers and assists with the Practical Cycle Awareness Training for HGV and PCV drivers.

Joanna Hendry – Office Administrator

Joanna looks after the facilities management of the Cycling Scotland office and assists with all of the organisation’s projects and initiatives.

Catherine Ross – Finance Officer

Catherine is responsible for Cycling Scotland’s daily finances.

Transport Planning and Engineering

Karlene Doherty – Head of Engineering

Karlene manages TP&E, the social enterprise engineering consultancy whose profits help further Cycling Scotland projects. Since joining TP&E in 2014 she has particularly enjoyed working on behalf of community organisations to deliver off-road rural active travel links. Karlene also assists Cycling Scotland through providing free Cycling Infrastructure Advice and facilitating Making Cycling Mainstream courses.

Campbell McCall – Engineering Technician

Campbell works alongside Karlene to deliver sustainable transport engineering solutions. Beyond working on active travel engineering solutions across Scotland, Campbell has also established himself as a leading specialist in the design and delivery of active travel signage.

Tom A’Hara – Engineer

Tom has over 30 years’ engineering experience and continues to assist TP&E with extensive knowledge of all things engineering. Tom has a diverse skill range from designing on-road segregated cycle routes to master-planning dedicated closed-road circuits.