Cycling projects awarded at Cycling Scotland Awards Ceremony

bike-thumbVolunteers, schools, campuses and workplaces are winners at Cycling Scotland Awards

Cycling Scotland’s annual award ceremony took place at the organisation’s conference held, in partnership with Transport Scotland and Perth & Kinross Council, at Perth Concert Hall on 7th and 8th November.




The winners at the Cycling Scotland Awards were:

    • Bikeability Scotland ‘Pupils’ Choice

    Highly commended: Sharon Forrest of Donibristle Primary School in Fife

    Winner: Kim McCaig of Kirktonholme Primary School and Nursery Class in South Lanarkshire

    • Bikeability Scotland Volunteer of the Year

    Highly Commended: Colin McAllister at Evie Community School in Orkney

    Winner: James Edwards, Grammar Primary School in South Ayrshire

    • Cycle Friendly School of the Year

    Winner: Graeme High School in Falkirk

    • Cycle Friendly Campus of the Year

    Winner: University of Dundee

    • Cycle Friendly Employer of the Year

    Winner: CH2M in Glasgow

The awards, presented by BBC Scotland sports presenter, Rhona McLeod at a civic reception hosted by Perth & Kinross Council at Perth Concert Hall, seek to recognise outstanding commitment and success in getting more people cycling across the country.

Keith Irving, Cycling Scotland chief executive said, “There is so much excellent work going on across Scotland to get people, of all ages and abilities, cycling more often. We are very grateful to our volunteers, campuses, schools and workplaces in helping us to grow confidence in our young people and to help achieve our shared vision of 10% of journeys by bike by 2020.

“Our thanks go to Transport Scotland and Perth & Kinross Council for helping to recognise the amazing work that goes on at grass roots level to help more people to travel safely and confidently by bike.”

Cycling Scotland is the nation’s cycling organisation. Find out more about all Cycling Scotland programmes at



No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.